top of page

Olive green pants


I some high-waisted olive green stretchy pants from the McCall's M7547 pattern. Now I finally have a pair of REALLY high waisted pants to wear with my cropped Inari t-shirts! Like they go past my belly button.

I started out with some tissue fitting since based on my measurements I thought I might be a little outside of the upper size I had available. From the photos below you can see I needed more room in the thighs, butt and waist. I also needed at least 2 more inches to the back rise. I also felt the front wasn't fitting very well so I added a wedge of more room to the length of the center front to give room for my lower stomach. I have never changed the crotch curve before and it didn't work out the way I wanted. I think I should have scooped out the crotch curve instead of adding a wedge to the front. I ended up having to take length off of the center front so that the waistband would sit at my waist and not bag out in the front.


I thankfully made a muslin from some left over fabric from a jumpsuit I made last spring, the fabric turned out to have no recovery, so after I fitted the pants they were already getting baggy after one wear, which wouldn't happen with my green fabric. But made knowing when to stop the fitting process difficult.




At the very beginning of the process I couldn't decide if I wanted to have the vintage wide leg look that came with the pattern or the more trendy skinny leg. Instagram set me straight and I went with the skinny/straight leg option. Still want to make the overalls with the bell bottom :)

In the end they turned out pretty great, still need some practice to get the perfect fit but for now these will get lots of wear!

Top: Inari Tee by Named Patterns

Pants: McCall's M7547

I really like the pockets that come with this pattern, the front ones are a really fun shape and the back ones are the perfect size for me with the little beveled bottom.

One problem with the way this pattern is drafted is the waistband is way too short, like almost 2 inches shorter than the pants pieces. I added the length needed this time, but if I were to make it again I would figure out how to draft a curved waistband since it doesn't lay very flat as a straight waistband. Also I accidentally put a big hole in the fabric by my zipper with my seam ripper (much swearing) but since there was no more fabric cutting a new piece wasn't even a question. So I just had to sew back and forth over that spot and call it good enough.



Also they were on my Make Nine! 3 down, 6 to go


Related Posts

See All

MADE SPECIAL FOR YOU BY KATE

Recent Posts

bottom of page