top of page

Pink Suedette Sleevless Nikko Dress

I completed the first thing off of my Make Nine 2019 list! The Nikko dress from True Bias is a very popular indie pattern around the sewing community and I am excited that I finally got around to making it!

The Nikko pattern includes four views - sleeveless or long sleeve, top or dress - all with a super on-trend mock turtleneck. I made the sleeveless dress version which is pretty straight through the waist and hip, not quite "bodycon" but also not a sack dress. It is designed to reach down to the ankle, mine ended up a little higher, call it 3/4 calf length :P And the knee-length side slits really complete the dress.

I tried to take pictures on the weekend while it was sunny for a little natural light, but my dog had a hard time not being the centre of attention. Thanks for nothing Doug!

The pattern recommends making it with a fabric with at least 75% stretch, my fabric had about 40%... this makes getting it over my head VERY difficult, but rather humorous. I debated adding a button to the back of the neckband but decided that the effort of opening that up and finishing it nicely would be more than I wanted to commit to this since I was already pretty much done when I realised the problem. Now I just make sure I pull it on before putting on my makeup :P


The other area that doesn't fit quite as I would like are the armholes, they come up very high into the armpit. Which I understand was designed to make sure your bra band wouldn't show, but if I made this again from a similarly sturdy fabric I would lower the bottom of the armhole by 1/2". Maybe in a stretchier fabric it wouldn't be as annoying.

Overall I love the dress, the fabric is so lovely and the colour and cut are very on trend :) I have already worn it out to dinner with Adam one time and anticipate as the weather warms it will get lots of action! I think maybe even to work since it can be "dressed down" a bit if I wanted.

Just out of frame - doug about to jump up and my hand is saying "staaayyyy" :)




Related Posts

See All

MADE SPECIAL FOR YOU BY KATE

Recent Posts

bottom of page